Line of Sight


Today I walked the class to the river, leapt on to the picnic table and pontificated with huge, wild gestures about the urgent importance of using the proper pronouns and subject-verb combinations, while the kids huddled around, gazing up as if I were Moses on the mountain. They filmed me with their smart-phones, inspiring me to act even larger, more ridiculous and outrageous: whispering love poetry to the moon and challenging the sun to a death-duel–and the children screamed their joy for grammar…But then I saw the two squirrels on the branch behind my head, fighting over a walnut.

14 thoughts on “Line of Sight

  1. Bahahaha! Love it! I used to get dressed up in character and teach. One year, I was Queen Hetsepshut from Egypt. The kids NEVER forgot it!

    Like

  2. I’m laughing at this, remembering a time when teaching that I did the whole “I can bring home the bacon, fry it up in the pan” “I am woman” thing, much to my students’ amusement and enjoyment. I like the way you showed the teacher being brought back to reality by the squirrels, although maybe it was seeing another nut. 🙂

    janet

    Like

  3. I’m guessing it’s the squirrels they’re more interested in, and filming on their phones? It’s all too easy to get carried away with our own success. A nice moral to this story without being preachy.
    Claire

    Like

  4. That was too funny. It reminds me of times when people I hardly know smile and wave enthusiastically in my direction. When turning around, more often than not, there’s someone else smiling back. Poor teacher.

    Like

  5. You tell it like it is!
    Ever been in a classroom when it’s started snowing outside? Or a stray dog gets into the playground – that’s a classic. But squirrels will do too. Just don’t get in the way of the stampede to the window.

    Like

Leave a Reply

